JJAP Conference Proceedings

JJAP Conf. Proc. 2, 011305 (2014) doi:10.7567/JJAPCP.2.011305

Doppler-broadening of annihilation radiation spectroscopy under high magnetic field using a longitudinally spin-polarized slow positron beam

Masaki Maekawa, Hongjun Zhang, Hui Li, Yuki Fukaya, Atsuo Kawasuso

  1. Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Takasaki, Gunma 370-1292, Japan
  • Received June 11, 2014
  • PDF (915 KB) |


A spin-polarized positron beam generated using a 22Na source, solid neon moderator and magnetic lens was developed. The beam diameter, beam flux and spin polarization were 0.5 mm, 1 × 105 e+ s−1 and 27%, respectively. An electromagnet system, which can generate ±1 T magnetic field, was also developed and equipped with the beam apparatus. Using this apparatus, Doppler broadening of annihilation radiation spectra under a high magnetic field were measured for bulk polycrystalline Fe, Co, and Ni samples and a thin film Co2MnSi sample. These spectra showed a clear asymmetry upon field reversal.

Creative Commons License Content from this work may be used under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. Any further distribution of this work must maintain attribution to the author(s) and the title of the work, journal citation and DOI.


  1. 1 A. Kawasuso, M. Maekawa, Y. Fukaya, A. Yabuuchi, and I. Mochizuki, Phys. Rev. B 83, 100406(R) (2011).
  2. 2 A. Kawasuso, M. Maekawa, Y. Fukaya, A. Yabuuchi, and I. Mochizuki, Phys. Rev. B 85, 024417 (2012).
  3. 3 M. Maekawa, Y. Fukaya, Y. Yabuuchi, and A. Kawasuso, J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 262, 012035 (2011).
  4. 4 M. Maekawa, Y. Fukaya, A. Yabuuchi, I. Mochizuki, and A. Kawasuso, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res., Sect. B 308, 9 (2013).
  5. 5 A. Kawasuso and M. Maekawa, Appl. Surf. Sci. 255, 108 (2008).
  6. 6 M. Maekawa, A. Kawasuso, T. Hirade, and Y. Miwa, Mater. Sci. Forum 607, 266 (2009).
  7. 7 M. Maekawa, Y. Fukaya, H. Zhang, H. Li, and A. Kawasuso, J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 505, 012033 (2014).
  8. 8 P. W. Zitzewitz, J. C. Van House, A. Rich, and D. W. Gidley, Phys. Rev. Lett. 43, 1281 (1979).
  9. 9 T. Kumita, M. Chiba, R. Hamatsu, M. Hirose, T. Hirose, H. Iijima, M. Irako, N. Kawasaki, Y. Kurihara, T. Matsumoto, H. Nakabushi, T. Omori, Y. Takeuchi, M. Washio, and J. Yang, Appl. Surf. Sci. 116, 1 (1997).
  10. 10 F. J. Mulligan and M. S. Lubell, Meas. Sci. Technol. 4, 197 (1993).
  11. 11 Y. Nagashima and T. Hyodo, Phys. Rev. B 41, 3937 (1990).
  12. 12 Y. Nagai, Y. Nagashima, J. Kim, Y. Itoh, and T. Hyodo, Nucl. Instrum. Methods Phys. Res., Sect. B 171, 199 (2000).
  13. 13 T. Hirade, Mater. Sci. Forum 445–446, 234 (2004).
  14. 14 T. W. Mihalisin and R. D. Parks, Phys. Lett. 21, 610 (1966).
  15. 15 P. Genoud, A. K. Singh, A. A. Manuel, T. Jarlborg, E. Walker, M. Peter, and M. Weller, J. Phys. F 18, 1933 (1988).