JJAP Conference Proceedings

JJAP Conf. Proc. 7, 011003 (2018) doi:10.7567/JJAPCP.7.011003

Theoretical calculation of positron trapping by embedded nanoclusters

Wenfeng Pan, Bin Zhao, Renqi Zhang, Ning Qi, Bo Wang, Zhiquan Chen

  1. Hubei Nuclear Solid Physics Key Laboratory, Department of Physics, Wuhan University, Wuhan 430072, P. R. China
  • Received October 11, 2017
  • PDF (743 KB) |


The trapping and annihilation characteristics of positrons in nanosized solute atom clusters (Mg, Ag, Au) embedded in Al crystals were studied by theoretical calculations based on the atomic superposition model (ATSUP). The results confirm the effective confinement of the positron wavefunction inside clusters with a diameter less than 1 nm, which contain only a few atoms. With increasing nanocluster size, the trapping of positrons is gradually enhanced leading to an increased positron annihilation lifetime. Our results suggest that positron lifetime spectroscopy should be a sensitive probe for Ag, Au, and Mg nanoclusters in Al matrix.

Creative Commons License Content from this work may be used under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. Any further distribution of this work must maintain attribution to the author(s) and the title of the work, journal citation and DOI.


  1. 1 T. Gladman, Mater. Sci. Technol. 15, 30 (1999).
  2. 2 J. Kuriplach, Acta Phys. Pol. A 107, 784 (2005).
  3. 3 J. Kuriplach, F. Bečvář, J. Čížek, and I. Procházka, Mater. Sci. Forum 445–446, 132 (2004).
  4. 4 A. Bharathi and B. Chakraborty, J. Phys. F 18, 363 (1988).
  5. 5 M. J. Puska, A. P. Seitsonen, and R. M. Nieminen, Phys. Rev. B 52, 10947 (1995).
  6. 6 J. M. C. Robles, E. Ogando, and F. Plazaola, J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 19, 176222 (2007).
  7. 7 M. Slabanja and G. Wahnström, Acta Mater. 53, 3721 (2005).
  8. 8 M. J. Puska, P. Lanki, and R. M. Nieminen, J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 1, 6081 (1989).
  9. 9 P. Pikart, C. Hugenschmidt, M. Horisberger, Y. Matsukawa, M. Hatakeyama, T. Toyama, and Y. Nagai, Phys. Rev. B 84, 014106 (2011).
  10. 10 M. J. Puska and R. M. Nieminen, Rev. Mod. Phys. 66, 841 (1994).
  11. 11 S. Van Aert, K. J. Batenburg, M. D. Rossell, R. Erni, and G. Van Tendeloo, Nature 470, 374 (2011).